AC Interviews

The attention was inevitable, but to be frank, I feel weird talking about myself unless the discussion is focused on training. It’s also weird to tell people that I talked about myself. But, at the advice of others, I’m sharing the interviews I recently did.

1) “Michelle Lin on Assassin’s Creed & The Tiger Claw Elite Championships” for Kung Fu Magazine.com (December 21, 2016)

This sums up the most commonly asked questions. Gene Ching, Gigi Oh, and the rest of the team – Thank you for the years of friendship and support. I look forward to the TCEC each year. Who would have thought one would lead to this?

2) “刺客教條” 林欣怡 驚艷聖誕大片 for 世界新聞網 World Journal.com (December 27, 2016)

3) 林欣怡潛心習武意外上銀幕 (& e-paper version) for Epoch Times (December 30, 2016)

wp_20161231_11_48_21_pro

Epoch Times Boston Edition


Geek Review: Assassin’s Creed (December 22, 2016)

Not an interview, but my sister found a mention of my character:

The movie’s other minor saving grace is the unabashed use and display of female stunt actors. Apart from Labed, there is another female Assassin in the mix, Michelle Lin, who plays, well, Lin. It is a possible easter egg that hints at the franchise’s famous female assassin, Shao Jun. Lin is as agile, ferocious, skilled and lethal as her male counterparts if not more so. She’s fast and furious, a joy to watch on screen as she beats her opponents into bloody messes without needing any help from her fellow Assassins.


How was the premiere?

This semester was especially busy with curriculum restructuring, Shining Link, authoring & producing an instructional video, and end-of-semester testing. I didn’t have time to think about the premiere until a few days prior. I wear training clothes 99% of the time so hair, makeup, dresses, and heels are fairly foreign to me. Sunday – flew to Boston. Monday – bought shoes & dress at the mall on the way to driving to NYC. Tuesday – hair cut in the morning, hair done at Drybar in the afternoon, and makeup done at MAC about 1 hour before the premiere. I ended up really liking my sister’s dress (and it has pockets!) so I wore it instead.

The premiere was at the AMC 25 near Times Square. I went up the elevator and as soon as the doors opened, I saw flashes go off and a sea of photographers yelling (nicely) at the stars on the red carpet. I nearly chickened out but I thought, “I came this far, I have to keep going.” It was but another challenge. And this is what I do.

img_4196a

I walked up and Michael K. saw me first and gave me a hug before putting me between himself and Marion. She remembered me and gave me a hug as well. I waved to the others before we had to stand still again for the photos. There’s an Oscar nominee, Oscar winner, Oscar winner, other award winning professional actors, director, and then there’s me. I heard some photographers ask, “Who’s the Asian girl?” haha. (Ariane came a bit later.)

- New York, NY - 12/13/16 -Twentieth Century Fox and New Regency Productions Present a Special Screening of "Assassins Creed" - Pictured: Cast of Assassins Creed - Photo by: Dave Allocca/Starpix -Location: AMC Empire

– New York, NY – 12/13/16 -Twentieth Century Fox and New Regency Productions Present a Special Screening of “Assassins Creed”
– Pictured: Cast of Assassins Creed
– Photo by: Dave Allocca/Starpix
-Location: AMC Empire

I was nervous as hell and walked off after the photo. I probably would have stayed to do interviews if I had a publicist, but I decided to find my family and enjoy the film. It was better than I had hoped and there was even a surprise! (I can’t say it or it will spoil it for those who haven’t watched it.)

Afterwards, there was a reception where I briefly talked to the director and co-stars and met a group of die hard AC fans and Ubisoft employees. I’m really glad to hear that they loved the film.

Ben – Thank you for getting tickets for my sister and dad. It really means a lot to us.

She was lucky!

Part of it started with the 2015 Tiger Claw Elite Championship, but it actually began years before, due to everyone I’ve met and the events that shaped me into the person I am today. I was not lucky to get this role. I trained for myself. I trained for the tournament. I worked on my audition video. I worked off and on the set before and during production. I’m only saying this to encourage people to keep working for their goals and don’t rely on a break. Never stop working. I don’t care if some people think I was lucky. If luck was all it took, I’d have no reason to be proud. (I hesitate to use the word “proud,” since I see all the areas where I could have done better.)

I’m grateful and proud to have been a part of the “Assassin’s Creed” production but it was one small chapter in my life. On to the next chapter.

3 thoughts on “AC Interviews

  1. Congratulations Michelle! I want to watch the movie :) I am a fan of the game and also since you participated I have more reasons to want to watch it ;) I am sure it is very good, specially with you in it ;)

    • Hello Margarida! It’s nice to hear from you. I’ve been busy since the semester started so I just read your message. I hope you’re doing well and I hope you enjoy the movie :) – Michelle

      • I still haven’t been able to see it, but I definitely will ;)
        Unfortunately I have not been able to train these last months, once once in a while :( This makes me very sad, but it has been very difficult to have time because of my job lately :/ I know that I am not as healthy or happy when I am not training :/

Leave a Reply

