Competition Rehearsal

The Tiger Claw Elite Championships is on Saturday, May 17th in San Jose!

I have a different attitude going into this tournament. Maybe it’s because I’ve always failed to do my best at competitions so my subconscious mind thinks, “It could happen again and it’s okay, no big deal.” I had an injured pinky toe which prevented me from jumping, going into low stances, and log running for more than a month, so maybe I’m not expecting too much from myself. I usually prefer to wear a silk top as a formality, but I’m wearing a Retreat Center t-shirt this time and the lighter fabric will feel better. My goal is still the same: to do the best of my ability. So, I’m not really sure why else I feel relaxed (at least right now).

For the past few months, I’ve been focusing on Shi Zi Tang (Crossing Sequence), an intermediate level sequence. I chose this for the challenge, because it would help me improve in the easier sequences, and to compare how I did at the same tournament in 2012. I feel very much like a beginner right now. I don’t have proficient stances, power generation, endurance, jumping ability, spirit, or the feeling for this sequence. It’s not being negative, it’s the truth and it’s okay. I keep going.

May 15, 2014 rehearsal:

 

The other sequence I’m competing with is San Cai Jian (Three Powers Sword). For most of the sequence, the sword controls me instead of the opposite. I’m working on that. This is the first time I’m competing with sword instead of saber. I like the flavor more – it’s a scholar’s weapon that requires stealth and deadly accuracy to disable your opponent. The saber’s movements are usually more bold, sometimes with big, hacking movements. I’ve been told that my personality is a better fit for saber. We’ll see!

 

This year we have 13 people in our crew either competing or cheering us on. Jon is going to be a judge for the first time. The energy feels different right now and everyone’s excited to take a break from regular training to go out, compete/watch/judge, and have fun!

2 thoughts on “Competition Rehearsal

  1. most competitions only give you feed back on what other people :judges: think, based on their own experiences of what they think is good or bad. this is good, depending on the judges you get. it also depends on who you are competing against. its all relative. use competition to push you to become better at what you are striving for, whatever that my be

    KEVIN

    Date: Fri, 16 May 2014 13:46:07 +0000 To: dragonturtle@msn.com

  2. Pingback: TCEC 2014 Part 2 – Let Go | a Rabbit and a Dog

Leave a Reply

