End of Semester 1

We’re still alive!

snowbamboo

It’s been getting colder and we had our first snowfall. One day, the thermometer in the gym read 32 degrees and we huddled around the space heater. It’s not so bad if you wear layers and start moving, but I’ll have to get warmer socks.

gymtrain

Regular training is over and we’ll spend the next week testing and cleaning up before we go home. There is a lot I want to write about, but I’ll have to wait until winter break. Here’s a quick preview:

Traditional Chinese Medicine:
We’ve had several visitors who gave lectures on Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM). The topic is pretty fascinating and all of us are constantly bombarding these poor visitors with questions :) I’ve only scratched the surface, but I hope to learn more to fix my imbalances and use some of the theories to enhance my training and lifestyle.

Training:
In some areas, I’ve made little to no progress. In other areas, I’ve improved and gotten over big hurdles. Mountain running isn’t as bad as it seems. I’ve actually made steady progress in carrying more weight and I’ll update my times on the Mountain Running page during break. On the other hand, I haven’t really improved in climbing the vertical and horizontal ropes. My upper body is stronger, but my body has also increased in weight so it evens out.

One of my biggest hurdles was walking the high logs with no ropes. The logs aren’t as thin or wobbly as some of the lower ones, but it’s the height that makes all the difference. After 3 months, I finally did it. I’m slow, but it’s a start.

Another hurdle was doing flips on the trampoline. A lot of us did this similar thing where we purposely jumped a little lower than we could while attempting a front or back flip. It was the fear of injuring ourselves. For our test in the beginning of October, I couldn’t even do a front flip and I’d practically do a bad somersault when I attempted. I’ve learned to be relaxed, jump high, and just throw my body the way I wanted to and now I can do both a front and back flip.

More training info to be added. Stay tuned.

Xiao Hu:
sunwarmupLet’s not pretend this little guy isn’t on the heavy side :p I’ve decided take on the daily chore of feeding Xiao Hu (and Xiao Hei while I’m at it) to have better control over his diet. When you don’t know how many people have given him “just one treat,” it’s easy to overfeed him.

Overweight dogs can develop the same serious problems as overweight humans such as: diabetes, damages to joints, bones and ligaments, heart disease, decreased liver function, digestive problems, decreased quality and length of life and more. I’ve gradually decreased his portions so we’ll see how it goes.

Diego:
So many people were saddened to hear about the loss of my family’s beloved Diego. Thank you so much for your kind words and support. Our family is doing much better now as we’re focused on all the happy memories we had with him. Diego’s previous owners even reached out to me after they read my post All Dogs Go to Heaven. They wrote heartfelt letters expressing their gratitude towards us for giving Diego the best life he could have and included photos of baby Diego.

diegoan1

Leave a Reply

