Lian Bu Quan 1000 Challenge

Updated 10/27/2013

Enter the Lian Bu Quan 1000 Challenge! Record yourself every 50 reps and send your videos to YMAA Boston. Click on the names of other students to see how they’re doing: http://www.ymaaboston.com/lian-bu-quan-1000.html

We train sequences towards the end of the day – after cardio, stance training, mountain running with weights, jumping, etc… sometimes all of the above. I have no idea what my Lian Bu Quan looks like when I’m fresh. I don’t even know what it feels like to not be sore!

#68

#251

#303

Corrections:

    • Turn the waist more in Deng Shan Bu
    • Correct foot placement in stances (ankles need to be more flexible)
    • Fix the elbow strike
    • Use my chest/spine more
    • After 2nd sting, slide up grab, horizontal strike – right hand needs to block higher (face)
    • More sense of enemy – I have more of it in Xiao Hu Yan, an intermediate sequence. Maybe it’s because I like Xiao Hu Yan a lot, the movements bring it out of me, or because I learned Lian Bu Quan as a beginner and thought of it mostly as a sequence to link steps and strikes.
    • Link movements – At first, I didn’t know what it meant, because I felt that at every point in the sequence, some part of my body was moving. Turns out, I have to fix the timing of my movements and my strikes have to come immediately right after my blocks (no pauses). It doesn’t mean that I have to do all the techniques (entire sequence) without pauses (at least not yet), I just have to do the movements in each technique without pauses. I started doing this at about #150 and I struggled for a while. I did the next 30 or so sequences pretty slowly to try to reprogram my body. As I keep practicing, I’ll continue to have slower transitional periods where I try to link movements. Examples:
      • At the beginning – block up and cut
      • Block, seal, punch
      • After turn 180 & left hand block – right hand groin strike at the same time as shifting into Deng Shan Bu

Even though I’ve practiced this sequence hundreds of times over the years, there is always something to fix. On the downside, things like this make me feel inadequate to teach. On the upside, it’s good to know that even good teachers will always have something to fix.

A thousand Lian Bu Quans seems like a lot, and it is, especially if you only have an hour or two to work out. The 5YP students start off with a few warm up rounds to work on individual corrections. Then, we split into 2 groups with one group going right after the other as fast as we can. For the moment, we sacrifice very low stances or a lot of power to keep the pace, but training for speed builds cardio, helps you link movements, and helps you discover which areas are unsmooth. Be sure to go only as fast as you can while maintaining good root, and practice the sequence not just for speed, but also to train stances and power as well.

The eventual goal is to have each group finish the sequence with good form in 30 seconds each, meaning we’ll have done 10 sequences in 10 minutes. Ten Lian Bu Quans a day (or class) is a pretty good pace to reach 1000.

Keep it up everyone!

2 thoughts on “Lian Bu Quan 1000 Challenge

  1. Pingback: Lian Bu Quan 454 | a Rabbit and a Dog

Leave a Reply

