5YP App Submitted

(You’re probably reading this because you were looking for Jon Chang’s blog. To filter, click on Jon’s Entries on the top link bar.)

When the 5YP was still a pipedream, I glanced at the application for fun to see what kind of questions it asked. It was much more challenging and thought provoking than either of the university apps I completed. You really have to know who you are and what martial arts means to you.


This spring, I started working on the app for real. The decision to apply was a journey in itself and my answers evolved as a lot happened throughout the year. At times, I felt guilty because I wasn’t always the person I was trying to portray. I wasn’t dishonest; I wrote about the person I wanted to be, but I wasn’t spending every waking moment studying or training martial arts. I’m working on it. My initial approach was to emphasize the obstacles I’ve had to overcome, but it made me appear weak. By the time I finished in September, my confidence had grown and I changed my strategy from focusing on my underdog traits to highlighting my strengths. I often wondered if they were looking for a particular answer, or if they wanted us to think that when in fact they were actually looking for a different answer. It’s a mind game, I tell ya.

After countless hours of writing and revisions, I finally mailed it out.
Part of me never wants to see it again. The other part knows I should use it to remind myself of the goals I’ve set.


Very Special Thanks to my proofreaders who spent hours pouring over 19 pages of answers and essays.
You now know more about me than you probably ever wanted to know. Good luck to those who have to read it :)

If you’re interested in the 5 Year Training Program, act now because there’s a lot of work involved. Good luck everyone!

4 thoughts on “5YP App Submitted

  1. I have spent the last 4 months on the application and I can totally relate to this. I am almost done with my application and this is somewhat reassuring. May the force be with youThanksAdam

Leave a Reply

