Long Fist Medley

One day, our instructor asked us to practice mixing up Tan Tui (彈腿). We could not do each Tan Tui more than once on each side. The purpose of this drill was to test our knowledge of the applications and to transition from one to another. Some transitions flowed very nicely while others were not so pretty. It was an interesting and practical exercise – one that was different from our usual training and required us to use our minds and creativity more than usual.

While training for my first competition, I modified the ending of Shi Zi Tang (十字趟) because I didn’t really like it. A few days later, I started playing around with techniques from Yi Lu Mai Fu (一路埋伏), Er Lu Mai Fu (二路埋伏), and Shi Zi Tang.

(Favorite move in Shi Tzi Tang – grab concealed knife and stab!)

It was easy to transition between those 3 sequences because they’re all part of Chā Quán (查拳), which is a substyle of Long Fist (Cháng Quán 長拳). I spoke to Classmate and we thought, “I really like this technique from this sequence, but I like this technique from that sequence. Why not put our favorite techniques together?” This is how I came up with my medley of Long Fist sequences.

Wouldn’t this be nice for the WildAid division at TCKFMC? The division supports WildAid’s efforts in saving tigers and other endangered animals. It is open to all students performing all styles (traditional kung fu, contemporary wushu, karate, taijiquan) and there is no time limit. I didn’t expect to win, because YMAA students who are much better (who also happen to be Grand Champions) would also be competing, as well as teams of wushu students flying all the way from China. You don’t travel 6,000 miles to mess around. My goal was to showcase traditional Chinese martial arts to the best of my ability. On the big stage. I just had to make it look good. And not get nervous. And hope I wouldn’t have to perform it twice in the event of a tie. Piece of cake… o_O

Long Fist Medley Versions 1.0 and 1.5 clocked in at 1 minute and 40 seconds. They were excellent for endurance training. There are just too many good techniques I want to include. They are good for preparing for intermediate sequences (averaging 45 seconds each) and advanced sequences (1+ minute each).

For WildAid, I had to shorten it so I wouldn’t die halfway through or put the judges to sleep. I made a lot of changes and with Classmate’s help, I’m now on 4.0. Classmate suggested I add the internal tornado kick after in a very tough spot (after 8 steps to chase the cicada), but it would look really cool if I could pull it off.

(I’m at 1:05 and Jon is at 2:43)

Sequence #5 of the day + nerves = needs improvement :p I’m starting to accept the fact that I will never be comfortable watching myself perform, and it’s only a snapshot of my training and most likely will not reflect my best form. More about TCKFMC later.

Now I need to come up with a name for this Epic Long Fist Mash up. Suggestions?

Try it mixing it up sometime. You can start with just a few Tan Tui and add sequences later for a bigger challenge. Get a feel for each technique’s applications and see how they can transition between each other. Put your mind into it and you’ll discover that there’s more to each Tan Tui and sequences than you had originally thought.

Leave a Reply

