Knife Throwing

I decided to pick up knife throwing as a hobby. It’s kind of close to dart throwing, which appears in some of our sequences. The first time I tried it, I was wearing my all black kung fu uniform and shades. The neighbors watched curiously. I wondered if they would tell their kids to stay away from me. A few days later, my neighbor came over and said, “I have to ask, what are you doing?” I told him and he offered to let me throw his ax sometime. He even took a couple of shots because it looked like fun.

I hope I never have to throw a knife at someone (I can’t carry these around anyway), but training for this is training for other things. (Training to be better at training.) It’s an activity that requires a lot of repetition and small adjustments to find the right method. It also gives you immediate feedback on your performance. It certainly trains patience. I realize that I’ll be spending a lot of time honing a skill that I may never use. But I think it will come in handy for something, I just know it!

Today, I got 6 out of 12 to stick!

Got the middle 4 all in a row!

In the next round, I got 0 out of 12 :p For now, I’ll be happy if I can get 3 out of 12. I’m also only 5 feet away for now :)

On an unrelated note, I got good karma today. A few weeks ago, I gave a few homeless men a couple of bucks. One of them had blood on his forehead, he was also limping and slurring his speech. I never know if they’re scamming people or really need the help, but if they’re asking for change, their situation must be bad enough. Sometimes I try to help. Today, when I called to make my monthly payment on a medical bill, the office had previously credited my account without charging my credit card. They let it slide because it was their error. I saved $100! :) Maybe it’s a coincidence. Maybe not? Maybe it pays to pay it forward. Sometimes the universe works in mysterious ways…

Leave a Reply

